AU announces ALC 2018 Scholarship recipients


The African Leadership Conference (ALC) on Space Science and Technology for Sustainable Development is an African Regional Conference organized bi-annually to gather all experts and key players in Space Science and Technology in Africa with the view to promoting intra Africa cooperation in the use of space science and technology to support Africa’s development.

The 7th edition of the ALC conference is scheduled to hold in Abuja, Nigeria from the 5th to 7th November, 2018 at the NICON Luxury Hotel. The event is being hosted by the National Space Research and Development Agency on behalf of the Federal Government of Nigeria.

In supporting African Youth participation in the conference, the African Union is supporting some foreign participants to be a part of the conference. The scholarship covers Air Fare transport and accommodation. The scholarship recipients are:

  1. Ani Vermeulen
  2. Nuria Ali
  3. Rayan Imam
  4. Ernest Matey
  5. Leehandi de Witt
  6. Hansley Noruthun
  7. Jessie Ndaba
  8. Turcia Busakwe
  9. Beza Tesfaye
  10. Hanadimirghani
  11. Maryanne Muriuki
  12. Dagmawi Mekonnen
  13. Aglago Dozi
  14. Quansah Joseph
  15. Benjamin Bonsu
  16. Akagla Herman
  17. Imane El Khantouti
  18. Alexander Gairiseb
  19. Ukaegbu Kingsley

The recipients would participate in the Youth Forum section of the ALC – The primary mission of the ALC Youth Forum is to serve as a platform for engagement of students and young professionals in the space sector towards harnessing space for development in Africa.

Click here to get real time data and information on every Segments and players in the African space and satellite industry.