Register for the 44th International School for Young Astronomers

International School of Young Astronomers, held in Cairo / Kottamia Obs., Egypt, in 2018. Source: IAU

The 44th International School for Young Astronomers, ISYA2023SA, will take place in Cape Town, South Africa, from the 19th of November to the 9th of December, 2023. The International School for Young Astronomers (ISYA) is a long-tradition project of the International Astronomical Union (IAU), nowadays also co-sponsored by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (NASL) through the Office for Young Astronomers (OYA). The 44th school is co-organised by the OYA and the South African Astronomical Observatory (SAAO).

ISYAs are three-week international graduate schools for regions where students have less opportunity to be directly exposed to the full extent of up-to-date astrophysics. They aim to broaden the young students’ perspective from international lecturers with up-to-date astrophysics, both on theory and observations. This three-week school will also benefit academic exchanges within countries, particularly in Africa.

Students and young professionals with a broad range of education and experience, from senior undergraduate to doctoral level, are welcome to the ISYA 2023 in South Africa. Preference will be given to students in their early career, MSc/PhDs. Priority will be given to applicants from Africa.

Acceptance to the school includes a studentship that covers transportation to Cape Town and back to the student´s home location and full boarding at the ISYA. In addition, all selected students must commit 100% of their time to the three-week program and participate in all scheduled activities.

Scientific Programme

  1. Stellar Structure and Evolution – Itumeleng Monageng (SAAO/UCT, South Africa)   
  2. Galaxy Evolution – Michelle Cluver (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia) 
  3. Cosmology – David Mota (U. Oslo, Norway)         
  4. Galactic (MW) Astronomy – Francesca Figueras (University of Barcelona, Spain)
  5. Interstellar Medium – Alexander Tielens (Leiden University, Netherlands)
  6. Solar System and Exoplanets – Jane Luu (MIT, USA)
  7. Virtual Observatory and Databases – Itziar Aretxaga (INAOE, Mexico)     
  8. Radio Astronomy – James Chibueze (North-West University, South Africa)      
  9. Astrostatistics Lab – Juan Rafael Martínez (Center for Astrophysics, Smithsonian, USA)
  10. Optical Observational Techniques – Rudi Kuhn (SAAO, South Africa)

Organising Committees

  1. Moses Mogotsi – 44th ISYA Local Director
  2. Danièl Groenewald – 44th ISYA Local Deputy Director
  3. Itziar Aretxaga – ISYA Program Director
  4. David Mota – ISYA Deputy Director
Scientific Advisory Committee / Local Organizing Committee
  1. Zara Randriamanakoto- SAAO
  2. Solohery Randriamampandry – SAAO
  3. Nicolas Erasmus– SAAO
Important Information 
  • Student Applications at
  • Open application: 30 December 2022
  • Deadline for application:  31 March 2023
  • Notification of acceptance: 31 August 2023

Click here to get real time data and information on every Segments and players in the African space and satellite industry.