Submit Nominations for the Women in Astronomy Awards 2022


The African Network of Women in Astronomy (AfNWA), a sub-committee of the African Astronomical Society (AfAS), in collaboration with the International Science Programme (ISP), Uppsala University, Sweden, is delighted to invite nominations for the 2022 Women in Astronomy in Africa awards. The award aims to recognise and support the scientific achievements and contributions to the society of women in Astronomy in Africa. 

The award will include an award certificate to be presented during the next general meeting of the African Astronomical Society (March 2023) and EUR 1500. In addition, depending on the general AfAS meeting organisation, awardees may be able to present their achievements in a talk.

The awards are offered in the following categories:

  • Early career astronomer award,
  • Senior-level astronomer award (every second year)

To qualify for the award, nominees should: 

  • Identify as a woman
  • Be working or studying in the field of astronomy on the African continent.
  • Submit a nomination before 13 November 2022. Self-nominations are welcome.
  • An early career award is open to MSc and PhD students and post-doc researchers within five years after their PhD. 
  • Senior-level awards are open to those who already have a PhD and more than five years of research experience – there will be no senior award in 2022.
  • The review panel confirmed and constituted
  • Criteria for awards are decided by the AfNWA board, approved by the review panel and displayed on the AfNWA website.
  • Nominations are collected through an online form.
  • The AfNWA board follows up to check the eligibility of nominations, collate nominations and follow up for any necessary supporting documentation.
  • The review panel is sent the nominations and a scoring sheet based on the eligibility and award criteria.
  • Reviewers score independently and return their scoring sheets to the AfNWA board for collating.
  • Reviewers hold a virtual meeting to decide on early career awards.
  • AfNWA board approves outcomes.
  • Outcomes are publicised  – emailed to individuals, and shared on and AfAS websites.
  • Awards are officially presented during the AfAS general meeting in March 2023.
  • 17 October 2022 – Call for nominations opens
  • 13 November 2022 – Call for nominations closes
  • 26 November 2022 – Nominations sent to reviewers, shortlist agreed
  • Mid-January 2023 – The review panel meets to decide on the award
  • End January 2023 – Awards announced 
  • March 2023 – Prize winners were allowed to present at the AfAS conference

To nominate someone for this award, kindly check here.

For additional information, kindly visit AfNWA’s website.

Click here to get real time data and information on every Segments and players in the African space and satellite industry.